Fun 4 kiddos

So on this post I’m going to have multiple ideas for fun with the kids that doesn’t cost much and will have memories your kids will remember forever. One of my favorite memories growing up was the weird but fun projects my mom did with us to keep us entertained. Even if it didn’t work out so well we all still had a good time, like I remember this one time we attempted to make Flubber but it didn’t really turn out the way we wanted BUT my sister and I had a blast with the green gloop that it turned out as and had hours of fun. There was even still some remains of it we couldn’t get off the wall until recently, and it was always a reminder to me of that fun, messy afternoon and its something I will never forget. So remember when you are trying these projects/crafts at home, even if it doesn’t turn out quiet like you planned or if you feel like (this is always my go to when I’m upset about things not working out) you have ruined it; your kids are making memories and having a good time.

As far as projects go I’m only going to go through two today and do more on another post but today we will go through these that aren’t hard to make but will have your kids amused for hours after its made, which, if you’re like me, gives you lots of time to do things that you need to do. I think we will start off with Moon Sand. Now moon sand is one of the easiest to make out of the things we will be talking about today but I will warn you, it gets a little messy when it comes to playing with it so I recommend it to be an outdoor activity or at a table. Coming from experience, it is VERY hard to get out of carpet and will spend more time on clean up then its worth. What you will need:

  • Large Mixing Bowl
  • 8 Cups of Flour
  • 1 Cup of Baby Oil

Now if you have littler kids or kids that like to put things in their mouth I recommend the “Taste-Safe” version:

  • Flour
  • Food Coloring
  • Canola (or any other type of vegetable) Oil
  • Bins and scoops or a big mixing bowl

So for moon sand the ratio is 1:8 and with that safe version use 1/4:2 (1/4 cup of oil to 2 cups of flour) for each color you use. Put your oil into different bowls and add around 8 drops of food coloring. I did not try to use food coloring in the first recipe so I’m not sure if it works the same but you are more then welcome to try it… Then using  a whisk mix water and food coloring together well until the coloring broke up into small beads. Since the food coloring I used wasn’t oil based it beaded up but still had beautiful coloring when blended with the flour. I highly recommend keeping out the dye just in case you want to add more once the flour is mixed. Once the oil/food coloring mix is done add in your flour and mix with a fork. Don’t be afraid to add more color to the flour mixture if needed, it will make some spots darker then others but I thought it added to the beauty of the color. After you have all of your colors mixed together, put in a bigger bin (sensory bins/Tupperware storage bin is what I used) and let the kids have at it. I suggest giving them cups, and stuff to make molds with and let them have a blast with it. Like I said earlier, I don’t recommend on the carpet but outside or on flat surfaces it was super easy clean up.

The next project is edible play dough. Now this is something my mom used to do for us and it was so much fun to make and play with, and in doing my research on it I have found out that there are so many different recipes and different ways of doing it (Kool-Aid, marshmallows, ect.) but the easiest one I found to make is Kool-Aid. it has very little ingredients and doesn’t take long at all, the longest part is the cooling process. What you will need for each color you want to make is:

  • 1/2 cup of all purpose flour
  • 1/2 TBSP of canola oil
  • 1/8 cup of salt
  • 1/4 cup of boiling water
  • 1 Kool-Aid packet

I suggest that you just boil a pot(medium size) of water if you are going to be doing multiple colors, that way you don’t have to keep doing it over and over again.

Mix all of your ingredients together well, and if it is still a bit sticky then and a little flour at a time until you get the normal play dough consistency. If your kids want to help they can just make sure they know its going to be hot and needs time to cool when its done being mixed. Whenever I  finished mine I put each color into a Ziploc bag and to check on the coolness of it I stuck my finger in the middle. I would say around 30 minutes and it was cool enough to play with but don’t rush it, if its not cooled off completely just leave it until it is. Like I said, super easy and again fun for hours so you can go do other things if you need to. Also I wouldn’t suggest telling your kids this recipe is edible because it does NOT taste good at all and will have your kids spitting it out.

Well I hope that these little projects will be as fun for you and your kiddos as it was for mine! We had so much fun between actually making it and then afterwards playing with it. I have been thinking and I think I will be posting every Saturday and going back and forth between food stuff and projects on every other post (again this may change but for now I will do it this way) and if I’m feeling adventurous today I may post a food one just to get some more experience doing this and figuring everything out. You all are my inspiration to keep doing this so if you liked this post and want more like it PLEASE post a comment below or if there is something you’d like me to talk about/try, don’t hesitate to tell me about it. I hope you all have a wonderful weekend and just remember, Just because you’re broke doesn’t mean you can’t live good! 🙂

A positive attitude causes a chain reaction of positive thoughts, events and outcomes. It is a catalyst and it sparks extraordinary results.

-Wade Boggs

One thought on “Fun 4 kiddos

Leave a Reply

